Niessing diamonds

Diamonds exhale eternity

Each stone is unique

A fascinating mineral from the depths of the earth, formed over millions of years under extremely high pressure and temperature. “Diamond”, in the original sense of the word, means “the unbreakable”.

Each diamond breathes eternity, each is a wonderful symbol of love. For thousands of years, diamonds have been working their spell on us. In terms of chemistry, they are “merely” carbon, but they have very remarkable features:

Diamond is an extremely hard mineral, and it is very precious. No other substance refracts white light as a diamond does, reflecting it in all colors. Each stone has its very own fire. Nature knows no repetition.

A diamond and its sparkle

Some influence can be exerted on diamonds: Rough diamonds are cut into shape to bring out their brilliance. In a brilliant-cut diamond, a round outline and 57 facets form a perfect surface for reflection, creating magical plays of light. There are innumerable diamond cuts, and the classic among them is the brilliant cut.

White or naturally colored?

Each diamond has a character of its own. And that is not only true for white diamonds. The smallest of mineral traces open up an entire cosmos of optical phenomena: From yellow to warm brownish hues, to bluish or pink—and all of it is natural. Not even under a magnifying glass will you find any inclusions in flawless diamonds. But then, don’t small irregularities make life interesting? Tiny variances can add spirit to the fire of a cut diamond.

We go for quality

What you can expect from us

Niessing diamonds are top quality. Independently of its certificate, each stone is specifically examined by our Niessing experts. Only the very best diamonds are suited for Niessing’s tension rings, because they are the only ones capable of withstanding the high degree of tension in the ring.

Your Niessing jeweler will help you select the right diamond for your piece of jewelry. The “four Cs” cut, color, clarity, and carat—as well as the fifth characteristic confidence—offer a good orientation.

DIAMOND

Diamond is the hardest known substance, and also one of the most fascinating minerals. The name says it all: “adamas” is ancient Greek and means “the unbreakable”. A symbol for purity, clarity, and courage, it has been the most highly valued gemstone for many centuries. Diamonds are assessed according to the 4 Cs cut, color, clarity, and carat. Niessing vouches for the quality of the diamonds used.

CUT

The cut defines proportions, symmetry, and polish. Niessing prefers the brilliant cut: round top view, 32 crown and upper girdle facets, a table, 24 pavilion and lower girdle facets. Due to the cut and the light refraction, this perfect gemstone sparkles in all colors of the rainbow. The quality of the cut is graded as excellent, very good, good, or fair. Niessing uses only good to excellent cuts.

COLOR

The intensity of the hue. White or colorless diamonds are very rare. Diamond experts distinguish the following hues: Exceptional white+ (D), Exceptional white (E), Rare white+ (F), Rare white (G), White (H), Slightly tinted white+ (I), Slightly tinted white (J), Tinted white+ (K), Tinted white (L), and Tinted color (M-Z) (color grades according to IDC). Naturally colored yellow, brownish, red, green, and blue diamonds are also extremely rare.

CLARITY

Flawless or with inclusions? Diamonds are natural products and as such frequently have inclusions of minerals, cracks, and growth marks. Internally Flawless (IF) category diamonds have no inclusions visible under 10x magnification. In the Very, Very Slightly Inclusion (VVS) category, inclusions are difficult to see under magnification, Very Small Inclusions (VS) and Small Inclusions (SI) are noticeable under magnification, while the inclusions in P1-P3 (first to third piqué) diamonds are visible to the naked eye.

CARAT

The unit of mass. One carat (ct) corresponds to 0.2 grams. The term stems from the original unit of weight, the carob seed, or kerátion, in Greek. The weight of very small diamonds can also be measured in points: 1 point = 0.01 ct.

Confidence

Your confidence in Niessing. We declare that our diamonds are subject to the ‘System of warranties’ of the ‘Kimberley Certificate’, as guaranteed to us by our suppliers. Each diamond is specifically examined by our Niessing diamond experts.

You might also be interested in

ABOUT US

Niessing COLORS

Niessing produces all precious metal alloys in-house. Pure, moon white platinum and twelve unique colors of gold: Which shade goes straight to your heart?

MORE

ABOUT US

Niessing manufactory

Since 1873 until today, the manufactory and its workshops are at the heart of Niessing. Each piece of jewelry goes through many hands before it is ready to wear.

MORE

ABOUT US

Niessing Design

Designers, goldsmiths, and technicians work hand in hand at Niessing. They turn experience, courage, and passion into fascinating jewelry design.

MORE

ABOUT US

Niessing Milestones

For over 140 years, Niessing has been creating links between tradition and innovation. Discover the milestones in our history from 1873 until today.

MORE

Niessing Diamanten

Ein Diamant atmet Ewigkeit

JEDER STEIN EIN UNIKAT

Ein faszinierendes Mineral aus den Tiefen der Erde, in Jahrmillionen unter höchstem Druck und extremen Temperaturen entstanden: Der Diamant, im ursprünglichen Wortsinn „der Unbezwingbare“. Jeder Stein ein Naturprodukt, jeder Stein ein Unikat.

Jeder Diamant atmet Ewigkeit, ist ein wunderbares Symbol für die Liebe. Seit Tausenden von Jahren zieht der Diamant die Menschen in seinen Bann. Chemisch betrachtet „nur“ das Element Kohlenstoff, besitzt er ungewöhnliche Eigenschaften:

Extrem hart und sehr wertvoll. Keine Substanz ist so in der Lage, das Licht zu brechen – weißes Licht strahlt in allen Farben. Jeder Stein hat sein ganz eigenes Feuer. Die Natur wiederholt sich nicht.

VOM DIAMANTEN ZUM BRILLANTEN

Der Mensch kann Einfluss nehmen. Er schleift in Form, macht aus einem Diamanten einen Brillanten: Seine kreisrunde Kontur und die 57 Facetten reflektieren einfallendes Licht perfekt. Brillante Lichtspiele, die verzaubern. Es gibt unzählige Schliffformen, der Brillant ist der Klassiker.

WEISS ODER NATURFARBEN

Jeder Diamant hat einen eigenen Charakter. Und das gilt nicht nur für die Weißen. Kleinste Spuren von Mineralien eröffnen einen ganzen Kosmos an optischen Phänomenen: Von Gelb über warme Brauntöne bis hin zu Bläulich oder Rosa – alles Natur. Die lupenreinen Diamanten lassen auch bei vielfacher Vergrößerung keine Einschlüsse erkennen. Aber sind es nicht gerade die kleinen Unregelmäßigkeiten, die etwas erst wirklich interessant machen?! Das Feuer eines geschliffenen Diamanten kann durch winzigste Abweichungen an Leben gewinnen.

Unser Anspruch an die Qualität

Was Sie erwarten dürfen

Niessing Diamanten sind von Top-Qualität. Jeder Stein wird unabhängig vom Zertifikat noch einmal von einem Niessing Spezialisten geprüft. Nur die allerbesten Diamanten eignen sich für einen Niessing Spannring®, denn nur sie können der großen Spannung im Ring standhalten.

Bei der Auswahl des richtigen Brillanten hilft Ihnen Ihr Niessing Händler. Die „vier C“ Cut, Colour, Clarity, Carat und das fünfte Merkmal Confidence, Vertrauen, bieten eine gute Orientierungshilfe.

CUT

Der Schliff. Niessing bevorzugt den Brillantschliff: kreisrunde Aufsicht, 32 Facetten im Oberteil, eine Tafel, 24 Facetten im Unterteil. Ein vollendeter Edelstein, der in allen Farben des Regenbogens leuchtet, dank des Schliffs und der extrem hohen Lichtbrechung. Bei der Schliffqualität beschränkt sich Niessing auf Excellent, Very Good und Good.

COLOR

Die Farbe. Weiße oder farblose Diamanten sind sehr selten. Diamantexperten unterscheiden hochfeines Weiß+ (D), hochfeines Weiß (E), feines Weiß+/Top Wesselton (F),  feines Weiß/Top Wesselton (G), Weiß/Wesselton (H), leicht getöntes Weiß+/Top Crystal (I), leicht getöntes Weiß/Crystal (J), getöntes Weiß+/Top Cape (K), getöntes Weiß/Cape (L) und getönt/cape bis yellow (M-Z) (Farbangaben nach IDC). Auch naturfarbene rote, grüne und blaue Diamanten sind äußerst rar.

CLARITY

Die Reinheit. Diamanten sind Naturprodukte und weisen oft eingeschlossene Mineralien, Risse und Wachstumserscheinungen auf. Lupenreine Diamanten (IF, Internally Flawless) lassen bei 10-facher Lupenvergrößerung keine Einschlüsse erkennen. VVS (Very Very Small Inclusion) heißt: mit Lupe nur schwer erkennbar, VS (Very Small Inclusion) mit Lupe, SI (Small Inclusion) mit Lupe leicht und P1-P3 (erstes bis drittes Piqué) mit bloßem Auge erkennbar.

CARAT

Das Gewicht. Ein Carat (ct) entspricht 0.2 Gramm. Die Bezeichnung stammt von der ursprünglichen Gewichtseinheit: das Samenkorn des Johannisbrotbaums (griechisch: keration). Das Gewicht von sehr kleinen Diamanten wird auch nach Punkt angegeben: 1 Punkt (Point) = 0.01 ct.

Confidence

Ihr Vertrauen in Niessing. Wir erklären, dass unsere Diamanten dem ‘System of warranties’ des ‘Kimberley-Zertifikates’ unterliegen. Dies ist uns von unseren Lieferanten garantiert worden. Niessing prüft alle Diamanten zudem im eigenen Diamantlabor.

Diamond Tracing:

Woher stammt mein Diamant?

Das gibt es nur bei kanadischen Brillanten! Hier können Sie die Herkunft Ihres kanadischen Niessing Diamanten bis zur Mine und dem Rohkristall nachverfolgen. Testen Sie das Diamond Tracing mit den Zertifikatsnummern 104081312001 (Ideal Round Cut) und 104081346003 (Ideal Square™ Cut).

Bitte geben Sie hier die Zertifikatsnummer ein:

DAS KÖNNTE SIE AUCH INTERESSIEREN

Über uns

Niessing colors

Niessing stellt alle Legierungen selbst her! Reinweißes Platin und zwölf einzigartige Farben des Goldes: Welche Nuance strahlt mitten in Ihr Herz?

Mehr

Über uns

Meilensteine

Seit über 140 Jahren verbindet Niessing Tradition mit Innovation. Entdecken Sie Meilensteine in der Entwicklung der Manufaktur von 1873 bis heute.

Mehr

Über uns

Niessing Manufaktur

Designer, Goldschmiede und Techniker arbeiten bei Niessing Hand in Hand. Wie aus Erfahrung, Mut und Leidenschaft faszinierendes Schmuckdesign entsteht.

Mehr

Über uns

Niessing Design

Was macht Schmuck eigentlich zu Niessing Schmuck? Und was Design zu unverkennbarem Niessing Design? Unsere Gestalter geben Auskunft.

Mehr