Niessing: manufactory since 1873

How we became what we are

Religious symbols and wedding rings

Today, Niessing is one of the world’s leading names in contemporary jewelry design. Niessing was established in 1873 in the town of Vreden, in the German region of Westphalia, near the Dutch border. At that time, Niessing primarily produced religious objects, such as crosses and other symbols used for praying and in church. Wedding rings, however, have always been one of Niessing’s mainstays. In the 1950s, Niessing advanced to one of Germany’s leading wedding ring producers. The seamless wedding ring, forged from a solid piece of precious metal, was developed by Niessing in the early 20th century. Even today, it is one of the most beautiful symbols for eternal love, without beginning or end.

Artists and designers working together

Ursula Exner, a daughter of the Niessing family, was the owner of the company in the 1970s. Until this day, her ideas remain crucial for the development of the specific Niessing design. She was very interested in art, and she worked together with architects—for example Max von Hausen—and artists—for example Joseph Beuys. Together, they shaped the Niessing design credo.

Bauhaus and Niessing

The art style of the Bauhaus of Weimar in Germany had a strong influence on the Niessing design philosophy. Bauhaus (1919 to 1933) is one of the most influential schools for architecture, design, and art in the 20th century. Artists such as Wassily Kandinsky and Paul Klee were professors at the Bauhaus school.

The architect Walter Gropius founded this school. His basic idea: he wanted to bring together performing arts, visual arts, and applied arts; areas of art that are traditionally separate from each other. By opening the borders between craft, technology, art, and industry, Bauhaus also overcame the “l’art pour l’art”, the idea of art for art’s sake. In that view, art only exists in its own terms, apart from “real life”.

Form follows function

In Bauhaus, however, art is not an end in itself. The guiding principle for Bauhaus is: “Functional is beautiful!” It was a revolution in design when Bauhaus introduced its typical clear, simple forms. Functionality comes first; form is completely subordinate to function. In other words: “Form follows function.” Bauhaus was a revolution in art. Without Bauhaus, design and architecture of the 20th century would be completely different today. And Niessing would not be Niessing.

Niessing S: a significant milestone

Niessing S pendants were first introduced in the early 1980s. Only by forging, without soldering, is durable, cool platinum joined with soft, warm gold. The clear, circular form, the contrasting colors, the appearance that is both avantgardistic and archaic: Niessing S is the fist first two-dimensionally expanding Niessing jewelry. And it is the most significant piece of jewelry for the manufactory on its way from making solely wedding rings to creating contemporary jewelry design.

At about the same time, Niessing presents a piece of jewelry that will soon attract worldwide attention and become a design icon: the Niessing Ring®, a floating diamond ring, reduced to the purest design possible. Up to this day, Niessing’s tension rings still represent the most beautiful way to set a diamond. The award-winning original design is protected by copyright. (Design Walter Wittek)

The most beautiful colors of gold

Colors are as essential for a piece of jewelry as the form is. Our designers and goldsmiths started very early on to explore the most beautiful colors of gold. In the mid 1980s, they created a revolutionary color flow from cool silver to warm gold: Niessing Iris. This was followed by another masterpiece in 2010: Niessing aura®, with gold colors flowing from gentle red to suave gray. Besides these exclusive color flows, Niessing has completed the range of colors with nine exceptional colors of gold, such as Rosewood, Ivory, Sand Gray, and Spring Green.

Awards and exhibitions

The tension ring Niessing Ring®, the color flow Niessing aura®, the watch Radius 9, or Niessing Crystallite and Niessing Topia: the list of renowned awards for outstanding innovative design and clear design language is constantly continued, and many pieces of Niessing jewelry have been included in the collections of notable museums.

You might also be interested in

ABOUT US

Niessing COLORS

Niessing produces all precious metal alloys in-house. Pure, moon white platinum and twelve unique colors of gold: Which shade goes straight to your heart?

MORE

ABOUT US

NIESSING AWARD WINNERS

We are very proud when our jewelry is awarded for innovative design. Take a look at our prize winners!

MORE

ABOUT US

Niessing Milestones

For over 140 years, Niessing has been creating links between tradition and innovation. Discover the milestones in our history from 1873 until today.

MORE

ABOUT US

Niessing Design

Designers, goldsmiths, and technicians work hand in hand at Niessing. They turn experience, courage, and passion into fascinating jewelry design.

MORE

Niessing: Manufaktur seit 1873

Wie wir wurden, was wir sind

Religiöse Symbole und Trauringe

Niessing gilt heute weltweit als Vorreiter für innovative Schmuckgestaltung und als Inbegriff zeitgemäßen Schmuckdesigns. Als die Manufaktur 1873 im westfälischen Vreden, nahe der niederländischen Grenze, gegründet wurde, lag der Schwerpunkt auf Devotionalien wie Kreuzen und Rosenkränzen. Das zweite wichtige Standbein waren von Anfang an Trauringe. In den 1950er Jahren avancierte Niessing zu einem der führenden Trauring-Hersteller Deutschlands. Und der fugenlose Trauring, schon Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts bei Niessing entwickelt, ist bis heute das schönste Symbol für die Liebe.

Frühe Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern

In den 1970er Jahren stellte die damalige Inhaberin Ursula Exner, eine geborene Niessing, die entscheidenden Weichen für das, was das Niessing Design bis heute ausmacht: Ihrem ausgeprägten Kunstverständnis und ihrer Zusammenarbeit mit Architekten wie Max von Hausen und Künstlern wie Joseph Beuys verdanken wir das Niessing Design-Credo.

Das Bauhaus und Niessing

Prägend für diese Entwicklung war die Philosophie des Weimarer Bauhauses. Das Bauhaus (1919 bis 1933) gilt als eine der einflussreichsten Schulen für Architektur, Design und Kunst im 20. Jahrhundert. Künstler wie Wassily Kandinsky und Paul Klee waren Lehrer am Bauhaus.

Begründet hat diese Schule der Architekt Walter Gropius. Seine Grundidee: Die traditionell getrennten Bereiche der darstellenden Kunst, der bildenden Kunst und der angewandten Kunst sollten sich miteinander verbinden. Indem das Bauhaus die Grenzen zwischen Handwerk, Technik, Kunst und Industrie öffnete, überwand es zugleich das l’art pour l’art, die Kunst um der Kunst willen bzw. die Vorstellung, dass Kunst nur nach ihren eigenen Gesetzen, losgelöst vom „richtigen Leben“, zu beurteilen sei.

Form follows function

Im Bauhaus ist Kunst kein Selbstzweck, sondern es gilt: „Schön ist, was funktioniert!“ In ihrer schlichten, einfachen Form sind die Produkte des Bauhauses eine gestalterische Revolution. Die Form ordnet sich vollständig der Funktionalität unter. Anders gesagt: “form follows function”. Das Bauhaus war eine künstlerische Revolution, ohne die das Design und die Architektur des 20. Jahrhunderts heute völlig anders aussehen würden. Und ohne die Niessing nicht Niessing wäre.

Niessing S: ein wichtiger Meilenstein

Anfang der 1980er Jahre kommen die Niessing S Anhänger auf den Markt: Allein durch Schmieden und ganz ohne Lot verbinden sich kühles, stabiles Platin und warmes, weiches Feingold. Die klare Scheibenform, die gegensätzlichen Farben, die avantgardistische und zugleich archaische Anmutung: Niessing S ist der erste flächige Niessing Schmuck. Und das bedeutendste Schmuckstück auf dem Weg von der reinen Trauringschmiede hin zur Manufaktur für zeitgenössisches Schmuckdesign.

Etwa zur selben Zeit präsentiert Niessing das Schmuckstück, das zu einer weltweit beachteten Design-Ikone wurde: den Niessing Spannring®. Eine Ringschiene, ein schwebender Brillant. Bis heute ist der Niessing Spannring® die schönste Art, einen kostbaren Diamanten zu fassen. Der preisgekrönte Ur-Entwurf ist urheberrechtlich geschützt. (Design Walter Wittek)

Die schönsten Farben des Goldes

Die Farbe ist für ein Schmuckstück so elementar wie seine Form: Deshalb haben sich unsere Designer und Goldschmiede schon früh auf die Suche nach den schönsten Farben des Goldes gemacht. Mit Niessing Iris gelang Mitte der 1980er Jahre ein revolutionärer Farbverlauf von kühlem Silber zu warmem Gold. 2010 dann Niessing aura®, ein weiteres Meisterwerk: Gold wandelt sich stufenlos von sanftem Rot zu feinem Grau. Mit diesen exklusiven Farbverläufen und neun außergewöhnlichen Goldfarben wie Rosewood, Ivory, Sand Gray oder Spring Green hat Niessing den Farbkreis in Gold geschlossen.

Ausgezeichnet und ausgestellt

Ob der Niessing Spannring® oder Niessing aura®, ob die Uhr Radius 9, Niessing Kristallit oder Niessing Topia: Immer wieder werden unsere Schmuckstücke für ihr innovatives Design und ihre klare Formensprache mit renommierten Designpreisen ausgezeichnet. Und auch in den Sammlungen bedeutender Museen sind viele Niessing Schmuckstücke zu finden.

DAS KÖNNTE SIE AUCH INTERESSIEREN

Über uns

Niessing colors

Niessing stellt alle Legierungen selbst her! Reinweißes Platin und zwölf einzigartige Farben des Goldes: Welche Nuance strahlt mitten in Ihr Herz?

MEHR

Über uns

Auszeichnungen

Wir freuen uns sehr, wenn wir Preise für unser innovatives Design bekommen. Werfen Sie einen Blick auf unsere ausgezeichneten Schmuckstücke.

MEHR

Über uns

Meilensteine

Seit über 140 Jahren verbindet Niessing Tradition mit Innovation. Entdecken Sie Meilensteine in der Entwicklung der Manufaktur von 1873 bis heute.

MEHR

Über uns

Niessing Design

Was macht Schmuck eigentlich zu Niessing Schmuck? Und was Design zu unverkennbarem Niessing Design? Unsere Gestalter geben Auskunft.

MEHR