Living jewelry culture

Jewelry makes every day special

We want our jewelry to be emotional…

Jewelry brings happiness. Jewelry makes us interesting. Jewelry makes life beautiful. This is an external effect, simply because we look better wearing jewelry. Jewelry works internally, too. Jewelry says so much about the people wearing it, about their moods, and about their personality. Jewelry is an attitude to life.

…and expressive

At Niessing, we expect a whole lot from our jewelry. Jewelry has to express individuality. It has to fit the present and be timeless, too. Jewelry has to appeal to the intellect. And it should go straight to the heart. Wonderfully paradox demands! And also a great challenge for the Niessing designers.

How can jewelry emphasize personality? Simply by the beauty of the precious stones and metals that are used, of course. But also by a smart idea, a new form, or an exceptional texture. No matter whether the jewelry was made from a well-known or from a new material, whether it was manufactured with traditional or with innovative methods: it will always reveal so much about the person wearing it.

Jewelry is made of ideas…

People often ask us where our ideas come from and what will happen if they ever run dry. We are very relaxed in this matter: We are absolutely certain that our ideas will keep coming. We take our best inspirations from our culture, our lives, and from the people around us. These people have a passion and enthusiasm; they are fascinated by nature, by objects, and by materials.

…and of experiments

Ideas can also stem from rituals and stories, even from very small ones. “I only look at my wedding ring and I already feel less lonely…” At other times, something emerges from simply doing it, from trying it out, from experimenting with techniques, forms, or materials. A question may already have the answer in it. A good deal of naive curiosity is always involved. And then there is the sense for details and for the sensuousness in the objects around us.

Jewelry is personal…

Jewelry that is not worn is “merely” an object. Person and personality are missing. Jewelry is active. The effect of jewelry depends completely on the wearer and can be different each time: exciting and always new. Jewelry also has a lot to do with our relationships to others. A jewelry piece may be a gift from a loved one, or it may be a reminder of a special event. Perhaps it is a family tradition, part of a custom… jewelry rarely stands for itself.

…and part of our culture

At Niessing, we see jewelry design as part of our culture. Niessing jewelry has uncounted facets. Each piece decorates a whole life. And each piece also has a story of its own. There is always something new to be discovered.

You might also be interested in

ABOUT US

NIESSING AWARD WINNERS

We are very proud when our jewelry is awarded for innovative design. Take a look at our prize winners!

MORE

ABOUT US

Niessing History

It started with religious ornaments and wedding rings—today Niessing stands for internationally leading contemporary jewelry design. How we became what we are.

MORE

ABOUT US

Niessing Milestones

For over 140 years, Niessing has been creating links between tradition and innovation. Discover the milestones in our history from 1873 until today.

MORE

ABOUT US

Niessing Design

Designers, goldsmiths, and technicians work hand in hand at Niessing. They turn experience, courage, and passion into fascinating jewelry design.

MORE

Lebendige Schmuckkultur

Schmuck macht jeden Tag einzigartig

Schmuck verrät Vieles …

Schmuck macht glücklich. Schmuck macht interessant. Schmuck macht das Leben schöner. Äußerlich, weil man mit schönem Schmuck eben schöner aussieht. Und innerlich. Denn Schmuck verrät viel über die, die ihn tragen: über ihre Stimmung, ihre Persönlichkeit. Schmuck ist Ausdruck von Lebensgefühl.

… und muss viel können

Wir bei Niessing erwarten richtig viel von unserem Schmuck. Schmuck muss Individualität zum Ausdruck bringen. Er muss in die Gegenwart passen und zeitlos sein. Schmuck muss den Verstand ansprechen. Und mitten ins Herz treffen. Eine wunderbar paradoxe Aufgabe. Und eine große Herausforderung für die Niessing Designer.

Wie kann Schmuck Persönlichkeit unterstreichen? Mit seinem materiellen Wert. Natürlich. Aber auch mit einer smarten Idee, einer neuartigen Form, einer ungewöhnlichen Textur. Ob das Schmuckstück aus einem altbekannten oder aus einem neuen Material besteht, ob es mit traditionellen oder mit innovativen Techniken hergestellt wurde: All das sagt ganz viel aus über den, der es trägt.

Schmuck kommt von Ideen …

Wir werden oft gefragt, wie wir unsere Ideen finden und ob die nicht irgendwann ausgereizt sein könnten. Da sind wir ganz entspannt: Die Ideen werden uns bestimmt nicht ausgehen. Denn die beste Inspiration kommt aus unserer Kultur, aus dem Leben – und von den Menschen um uns herum. Menschen, die sich für etwas begeistern können, die sich faszinieren lassen von der Natur, von Gegenständen und von Materialien.

… und vom Experimentieren

Auch kleine Rituale und Geschichten können es sein, die eine Idee wachsen lassen. „Ich schaue auf meinen Trauring, und schon bin ich nicht mehr allein…“ Und dann wieder entsteht etwas einfach beim Tun, beim Experimentieren mit Techniken, Formen, Materialien. Eine gut gestellte Frage birgt oft schon die Lösung. Eine große Portion kindlicher Neugier und viel Phantasie ist immer mit dabei. Und der Blick für die Feinheiten, für das Sinnliche in den Dingen, die uns umgeben.

Schmuck ist emotional …

Schmuck, der nicht getragen wird, ist „nur“ ein Objekt. Es fehlt der Mensch, die Persönlichkeit. Schmuck ist aktiv. Die Wirkung eines Schmuckstückes kann je nach Träger komplett unterschiedlich sein. Das ist spannend, immer wieder neu. Auch mit unseren Beziehungen zu anderen hat Schmuck viel zu tun: Vielleicht ist das Stück das Geschenk eines geliebten Menschen. Oder Erinnerung an ein besonderes Ereignis. Vielleicht schwingt auch Tradition mit, die Familie… Schmuck ist selten allein.

… und Teil unserer Kultur

Wir bei Niessing verstehen Schmuckdesign als Teil unserer Kultur, Niessing Schmuck hat unendlich viele Facetten. Jedes Stück schmückt ein Leben. Und jedes hat seine eigene kleine Geschichte: Es gibt immer etwas zu entdecken.

DAS KÖNNTE SIE AUCH INTERESSIEREN

Über uns

Niessing colors

Niessing stellt alle Legierungen selbst her! Reinweißes Platin und zwölf einzigartige Farben des Goldes: Welche Nuance strahlt mitten in Ihr Herz?

Mehr

Über uns

Auszeichnungen

Wir freuen uns sehr, wenn wir Preise für unser innovatives Design bekommen. Werfen Sie einen Blick auf unsere ausgezeichneten Schmuckstücke.

Mehr

Über uns

Niessing Manufaktur

Designer, Goldschmiede und Techniker arbeiten bei Niessing Hand in Hand. Wie aus Erfahrung, Mut und Leidenschaft faszinierendes Schmuckdesign entsteht.

Mehr

Über uns

Niessing Design

Was macht Schmuck eigentlich zu Niessing Schmuck? Und was Design zu unverkennbarem Niessing Design? Unsere Gestalter geben Auskunft.

Mehr